Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Chemistry 2001-2005


Edited by Per Ahlberg (Göteborg University, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Chemistry during the period 2001-2005 with a description of the work with the Nobel Prize:

(2001) William S Knowles, Ryoji Noyori – for their work on chirally catalyzed hydrogenation reactions and K Barry Sharpless – for his work on chirally catalyzed oxidation reactions;

(2002) John B Fenn, Koichi Tanaka – for their development of soft desorption ionization methods for mass spectrometric analyses of biological macromolecules and Kurt Wüthrich – for his development of nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy for determining the three-dimensional structure of biological macromolecules in solution;

(2003) Peter Agre – for the discovery of water channels and Roderick MacKinnon – for structural and mechanistic studies of ion channels;

(2004) Aaron Ciechanover, Avram Hershko and Irwin Rose – for the discovery of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation;

(2005) Yves Chauvin, Robert H Grubbs and Richard R Schrock – for the development of the metathesis method in organic synthesis.

492 pp
Pub. date: July 2008
ISBN 981-279-444-4 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-279-445-X (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Chemistry 2001-2005". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 20 Dec 2014. <>


On 27 November 1895 Alfred Nobel signed his last will in Paris.


Try to save some patients and learn about human blood types!


Discover the 2012 awarded research on stem cells and cell signalling.