Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Chemistry 1971-1980


Edited by Sture Forsén (University of Lund, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Chemistry during the period 1971-1980 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(1971) G Herzberg - for his contributions to the knowledge of electronic structure and geometry of molecules, particularly free radicals;

(1972) C B Anfinsen - for his work on ribonuclease, especially concerning the connection between the amino acid sequence and the biologically active confirmation; S Moore & W H Stein - for their contribution to the understanding of the connection between chemical structure and catalytic activity of the active centre of the ribonuclease molecule;

(1973) E O Fischer & G Wilkinson - for their pioneering work, performed independently, on the chemistry of the organometallic, so called sandwich compounds;

(1974) P J Flory - for his fundamental achievements, both theoretical and experimental, in the physical chemistry of macromolecules;

(1975) J W Cornforth - for his work on the stereochemistry of enzyme-catalyzed reactions; V Prelog - for his research into the stereochemistry of organic molecules and reactions;

(1976) W N Lipscomb - for his studies on the structure of boranes, illuminating problems of chemical bonding;

(1977) I Prigogine - for his contributions to non-equilibrium thermodynamics particularly the theory of dissipative structures;

(1978) P Mitchell - for his contribution to the understanding of biological energy transfer through the formulation of the chemiosmotic theory;

(1979) H C Brown & G Wittig - for their development of the use of boron- and phosphorus-containing compounds, respectively into important reagents in organic synthesis;

(1980) P Berg - for his fundamental studies of the biochemistry of nucleic acids, with particular regard to recombinant-DNA; W GILBERT and F SANGER - for their contributions concerning the determination of base sequences in nucleic acids.

Pub. date: August 1993
ISBN 981-02-0786-7 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-0787-5 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Chemistry 1971-1980". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 16 Aug 2017. <>