Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Prize Lectures in Economic Sciences 1991-1995


The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

Edited by Torsten Persson (Stockholm University, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Laureates in Economic Sciences during the period 1991-1995 with a description of the work awarded with the Prize in Economic Sciences:

(1991) R H Coase - for his discovery and clarification of the significance of transaction costs and property rights for the institutional structure and functioning of the economy;

(1992) G S Becker - for having extended the domain of microeconomic analysis to a wide range of human behaviour and interaction, including nonmarket behaviour;

(1993) R W Fogel and DC North - for having renewed research in economic history by applying economic theory and quantitative methods in order to explain economic and institutional change;

(1994) J C Harsanyi, J F Nash and R Selten - for their pioneering analysis of equilibria in the theory of non-cooperative games;

(1995) R E Lucas - for having developed and applied the hypothesis of rational expectations, and thereby having transformed macroeconomic analysis and deepened our understanding of economic policy.

Pub. date: July 1997
ISBN 981-02-3059-1 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-3060-5 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Prize Lectures in Economic Sciences 1991-1995". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 20 Dec 2014. <>


On 27 November 1895 Alfred Nobel signed his last will in Paris.


Try to save some patients and learn about human blood types!


Discover the 2012 awarded research on stem cells and cell signalling.