Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Prize Lectures in Economic Sciences 1996-2000


The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

Edited by Torsten Persson (Stockholm University, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Laureates in Economic Sciences during the period 1996-2000 with a description of the work awarded with the Prize in Economic Sciences:

(1996) J A Mirrlees and W S Vickrey – for their fundamental contributions to the economic theory of incentives under asymmetric information;

(1997) R C Merton and M A Scholes – for a new method to determine the value of derivatives;

(1998) A K Sen – for his contributions to welfare economics;

(1999) R A Mundell – for his analysis of monetary and fiscal policy under different exchange rate regimes and his analysis of optimum currency areas;

(2000) J J Heckman – for his development of theory and methods for analyzing selective samples and D L McFadden – for his development of theory and methods for analyzing discrete choice.

380 pp
Pub. date: June 2003
ISBN 981-02-4960-8 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-4961-6 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Prize Lectures in Economic Sciences 1996-2000". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 17 Aug 2017. <>