Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Literature 1996-2000

Edited by Horace Engdahl (Swedish Academy, Stockholm, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Literature during the period 1996-2000 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(1996) W Szymborska – for poetry that with ironic precision allows the historical and biological context to come to light in fragments of human reality;

(1997) D Fo – who emulates the jesters of the Middle Ages in scourging authority and upholding the dignity of the down-trodden;

(1998) J Saramago – who with parables sustained by imagination, compassion and irony continually enables us once again to apprehend an elusory reality;

(1999) G Grass – whose frolicsome black fables portray the forgotten face of history;

(2000) G Xingjian – for an oeuvre of universal validity, bitter insights and linguistic ingenuity, which has opened new paths for the Chinese novel and drama.

164 pp
Pub. date: February 2003
ISBN 981-02-4962-4 (hardcover)
SBN 981-238-000-0 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Literature 1996-2000". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 20 Dec 2014. <>


On 27 November 1895 Alfred Nobel signed his last will in Paris.


Try to save some patients and learn about human blood types!


Discover the 2012 awarded research on stem cells and cell signalling.