Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Physiology or Medicine 1971-1980


Edited by Jan Lindsten (Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Physiology or Medicine for the period 1971-1980 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(1971) E W Sutherland, Jr. - for his discoveries concerning the mechanisms of the action of hormones;

(1972) G M Edelman and R R Porter - for their discoveries concerning the chemical structure of antibodies;

(1973) K Von Frisch, K Lorenz and N Tinbergen - for their discoveries concerning organization and elicitation of individual and social behaviour patterns;

(1974) A Claude, C De Duve and G E Palade - for their discoveries concerning the structural and functional organization of the cell;

(1975) D Baltimore, R Dulbecco and H M Temin- for their discoveries concerningthe interaction between tumour viruses and genetic material of the cell;

(1976) B S Blumberg and D C Gajdusek - for their discoveries concerning new mechanisms for the origin and dissemination of infectious diseases;

(1977) R Guillemin and A V Schally - for their discoveries concerning the peptide hormone production of the brain; and R S Yalow - for the development of radioimmunoassays of peptide hormones;

(1978) W Arber, D Nathans and H O Smith - for the discovery of restriction enzymes and their application to problems of molecular genetics;

(1979) A M Cormack and G N Hounsfield - for the development of computer assisted tomography;

(1980) B Benacerraf, J Dausset and G D Snell - for their discoveries concerning genetically determined structures on the cell surface that regulate immunological reactions.

Pub. date: December 1992
ISBN 981-02-0790-5 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-0791-3 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Physiology or Medicine 1971-1980". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 22 Dec 2014. <>


On 27 November 1895 Alfred Nobel signed his last will in Paris.


Try to save some patients and learn about human blood types!


Discover the 2012 awarded research on stem cells and cell signalling.