Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Physiology or Medicine 1996-2000

Edited by Hans Jornvall (Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Physiology or Medicine for the period 1996-2000 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(1996) P C Doherty and R M Zinkernagel – for their discoveries concerning the specificity of the cell mediated immune defence;

(1997) S B Prusiner – for his discovery of Prions – a new biological principle of infection;

(1998) R F Furchgott, L J Ignarro and F Murad – for their discoveries concerning nitric oxide as a signalling molecule in the cardiovascular system;

(1999) G Blobel – for the discovery that proteins have intrinsic signals that govern their transport and localization in the cell;

(2000) A Carlsson, P Greengard and E R Kandel – for their discoveries concerning signal transduction in the nervous system.

452 pp
Pub. date: April 2003
ISBN 981-238-005-1 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-238-006-X (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Physiology or Medicine 1996-2000". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 20 Dec 2014. <>


On 27 November 1895 Alfred Nobel signed his last will in Paris.


Try to save some patients and learn about human blood types!


Discover the 2012 awarded research on stem cells and cell signalling.