Nobelprize.org
Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Particle Physics and the Universe

(1998, NS 109)
August 20-25, 1998
Haga Slott, Enköping, Sweden
Organizers: Professors Per Carlson, Royal Institute of Technology; and Lars Bergström and Claes Fransson, Stockholm University.

About 50 people participated in the symposium, including 36 invited lecturers from abroad. One major field at the symposium was neutrino physics. New experimental data indicate that the neutrino actually has a non-zero mass. This enables the various neutrinos (there are three different ones) to oscillate between each other by quantum-mechanical means. For example, the excessively low number of observed solar neutrinos can be explained by oscillations. Several contributions dealt with different aspects of neutrino research. Neutrinos with mass may also comprise part of the "dark matter" in the universe. Various methods for studying dark matter were thoroughly discussed. Very high-energy neutrinos can be used to study energy-rich processes at great distances from our own galaxy.

Another highly topical field is the various types of cosmic electromagnetic radiation, ranging from studies of continuous cosmic background radiation to the pulsing sources known as gamma ray bursts. The latter have recently been shown to come from sources outside our own galaxy and are very high-energy. Among the mechanisms suggested are collisions of neutron stars with black holes.

The question of whether the universe will expand eternally or whether its current expansion will be followed by contraction is a very central issue.

The symposium discussed new data from supernova explosions that took place very far away and thus early in the evolution of the universe. The symposium attracted publicity in the press and on radio. Its proceedings have been published in a separate volume of Physica Scripta.

 

Participants

Jenni Adams Uppsala University jenni@teorfys.uu.se
Guido Altarelli CERN guido.altarelli@cern.ch
John Bahcall IAS, Princeton jnb@sns.ias.edu
Neta Bahcall Princeton University neta@astro.princeton.edu
Steve Barwick UC Irvine BARWICK@MASTER.PS.UCI.EDU
Lars Bergström Stockholm University lbe@physto.se
Claes-Ingvar Björnsson Stockholm University bjornsson@astro.su.se
Roger Blandford Caltech rdb@caltech.edu
Adam Burrows Arizona University burrows@jupiter.as.Arizona.EDU
Per Carlson RIT, Stockholm carlson@msi.se
John Carlstrom University of Chicago jc@oddjob.uchicago.edu
Jim Cronin University of Chicago jwc@hep.uchicago.edu
Ulf Danielsson Uppsala University ulf@teorfys.uu.se
John Ellis CERN John.Ellis@cern.ch
Tom Francke RIT, Stockholm francke@particle.kth.se
Claes Fransson Stockholm University fransson@astro.su.se
Wendy Freedman Carnegie Observatory wendy@rmdm.ociw.edu
Tom Gaisser Bartol Research Institute gaisser@bartol.udel.edu
Ariel Goobar Stockholm University ariel@physto.se
Bengt Gustafsson Uppsala University bengt.gustafsson@astro.uu.se
Alan Guth MIT guth@ctp.mit.edu
Per Olof Hulth Stockholm University hulth@physto.se
Cecilia Jarlskog Lund Institute of Techn. ceja@matfys.lth.se
Till Kirsten MPI Heidelberg kirst@kosmo.mpi-hd.mpg.de
Rocky Kolb Fermilab rocky@fnal.gov
Andrei Linde Stanford University linde@physics.stanford.edu
Eligio Lisi University of Bari lisi@bari.infn.it
Piero Madau STScI pmadau@stsci.edu
Jeremiah Ostriker Princeton University jpo@Princeton.EDU
Jim Peebles Princeton University pjep@pupgg.Princeton.EDU
Martin Rees University of Cambridge mjr@ast.cam.ac.uk
Hector Rubinstein Uppsala University rub@physto.se
Bernard Sadoulet UC Berkeley sadoulet@physics.berkeley.edu
Joe Silk UC Berkeley silk@pac2.berkeley.edu
Håkan Snellman RIT, Stockholm snell@theophys.kth.se
David Spergel Princeton University dns@astro.Princeton.EDU
Michel Spiro Saclay SPIRO@hep.saclay.cea.fr Paul
Paul Steinhardt University of Pennsylvania steinh@steinhardt.hep.upenn.edu
Roland Svensson Stockholm University svensson@astro.su.se
Max Tegmark IAS, Princeton max@ias.edu
Yoji Totsuka University of Tokyo totsuka@suketto.icrr.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Michael Turner University of Chicago mturner@oddjob.uchicago.edu
Tony Tyson Lucent Technologies tyson@bell-labs.com
David Tytler UC San Diego dtytler@ucsd.edu
Gabriele Veneziano CERN gabriele.veneziano@cern.ch
Alan Watson Leeds University phy6aaw@phys-irc.novell.leeds.ac.uk
Eli Waxman Weizmann Institute waxman@figaro.weizmann.ac.il
Trevor Weekes Whipple Observatory weekes@egret.sao.arizona.edu
David Wilkinson Princeton University dtw@pupgg.Princeton.EDU

 

Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Particle Physics and the Universe". Nobelprize.org. Nobel Media AB 2013. Web. 20 Apr 2014. <http://www.nobelprize.org/nobel_organizations/nobelfoundation/symposia/physics/ns109/about.html>

Recommended:

On 27 November 1895 Alfred Nobel signed his last will in Paris.

 

Try to save some patients and learn about human blood types!

 

Discover the 2012 awarded research on stem cells and cell signalling.