Nobel Medal-
Chemistry Prizes and Laureates

2014 Chemistry Prize will be announced in:

47 days

Wednesday 8 October, 11:45 a.m.


Awards: 105 Prizes to 166 Laureates
Prizes to one Laureate only: 63
Awarded women: 4
Average age of a Chemistry Laureate: 58
More facts on the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Awarded to 166 Nobel Laureates since 1901

“The said interest shall be divided into five equal parts, which shall be apportioned as follows: /- - -/ one part to the person who shall have made the most important chemical discovery or improvement ...”

(Excerpt from the will of Alfred Nobel)

Chemistry was the most important science for Alfred Nobel’s own work. The development of his inventions as well as the industrial processes he employed were based upon chemical knowledge. Chemistry was the second prize area that Nobel mentioned in his will.

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm, Sweden.

2013 Chemistry Prize

Chemists experimenting

Taking the Experiment to Cyberspace

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2013 was awarded jointly to Martin Karplus, Michael Levitt and Arieh Warshel.

Michael Levitt

"We Had to Make Things as Simple as We Could!"

Michael Levitt explains his Nobel Prize awarded work to young students

Arieh Warshel

"Focus on the Main Part, Not in the Details ..."

Arieh Warshel gives advice to young students in this interview

Why Chemistry Matters

Learn about chemistry's many facets and why would one claim that chemistry is the 'queen of all sciences'.

Explore how Nobel Laureates compare their own research to the adventures of Huckleberry Finn.

From molecules to equations to experiments, learn how and why chemistry is beautiful.