The Medal for The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel. Registered trademark of the Nobel Foundation. © ® The Nobel Foundation. Photo: Lovisa Engblom
Collage of Prize in Economic Sciences Laureates

2014 Prize in Economic Sciences will be announced in:

54 days

Monday 13 October, 11:45 a.m.


Number: 45 Prizes to 74 Laureates
Prizes to one Laureate only: 22
Awarded women: 1
Average age of a Laureate: 67

More facts on the Prize in Economic Sciences

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

Awarded to 74 Laureates since 1969

In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank (Sweden's central bank) established the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize. The Prize is based on a donation received by the Nobel Foundation in 1968 from Sveriges Riksbank on the occasion of the Bank's 300th anniversary. The first Prize in Economic Sciences was awarded to Ragnar Frisch and Jan Tinbergen in 1969.

The Prize in Economic Sciences is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm, Sweden, according to the same principles as for the Nobel Prizes that have been awarded since 1901.

Videos with Laureates in Economic Sciences

John Nash


PRIZE IN ECONOMIC SCIENCES 1994 Dr. John Nash talks about the impact the Prize had on his life, his talent for mathematics as a child and shares his thoughts about the movie on his life, 'A Beautiful Mind'.

Daniel Kahneman

Prize Lecture

PRIZE IN ECONOMIC SCIENCES 2002 Daniel Kahneman has integrated insights from psychology into economics, thereby laying the foundation for a new field of research. His Nobel Lecture Maps of Bounded Rationality was delivered December 8, 2002.

Elonor Ostrom


PRIZE IN ECONOMIC SCIENCES 2009 Elinor Ostrom has demonstrated how common property can be successfully managed by user associations. Oliver Williamson has developed a theory where business firms serve as structures for conflict resolution.

Prize Lecture

PRIZE IN ECONOMIC SCIENCES 2008 Paul Krugman delivered his Prize Lecture The Increasing Returns Revolution in Trade and Geography on 8 December 2008.