Laureates in Economic Sciences

Photo: A. Mahmoud. Photo: A. Mahmoud.

2015 Prize in Economic Sciences

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2015 was awarded to Angus Deaton "for his analysis of consumption, poverty, and welfare".

Press release
The Medal for The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel. Registered trademark of the Nobel Foundation. © ® The Nobel Foundation.

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

Awarded to 76 Laureates since 1969

In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank (Sweden's central bank) established the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize. The Prize is based on a donation received by the Nobel Foundation in 1968 from Sveriges Riksbank on the occasion of the Bank's 300th anniversary. The first Prize in Economic Sciences was awarded to Ragnar Frisch and Jan Tinbergen in 1969.

The Prize in Economic Sciences is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm, Sweden, according to the same principles as for the Nobel Prizes that have been awarded since 1901.

Peter Englund. Peter Englund.

Who Selects the Laureates in Economic Sciences?

Peter Englund, former Secretary of the Economic Sciences Prize Committee, answers frequently asked questions about the Prize in Economic Sciences.

Read Peter Englund's answers

Did You Know?


Prizes in Economic Sciences have been awarded since 1969.


Prizes in Economic Sciences have been awarded to one Laureate only.


woman have been awarded the Prize in Economic Sciences so far, Elinor Ostrom, in 2009.


years was the age of the youngest Laureate in Economic Sciences ever, Kenneth J. Arrow, who was awarded in 1972.


years was Leonid Hurwicz when he was awarded the Prize - the oldest Laureate in Economic Sciences ever.


is the average age of the Laureates in Economic Sciences the year they were awarded the prize.

All facts and figures about the Prize in Economic Sciences

Stock market

Established in 1969

The Prizes in Economic Sciences are given on the same principles as for the Nobel Prizes. What criteria have guided the awards so far? And what have been the main problems when selecting the Laureates?

More about the Prize in Economic Sciences

2014 Prize in Economic Sciences

Jean Tirole

"I didn't know anything about economics"

Jean Tirole talks about what brought him to study economics: the combination of the rigorous mathematics and the human aspect of social sciences.

Watch the interview clip

Jean Tirole delivering his banquet speech

"Humility is not easy to preserve when receiving such a prestigious award"

Read Jean Tirole's speech from the Nobel Banquet in Stockholm, Sweden.

Read the speech

Jean Tirole's diploma

The Diploma for Economic Sciences

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences is responsible for the Physics and Chemistry diplomas, and since 1969 also for the Economic Sciences diploma.

Have a look at Jean Tirole's diploma

Popular Videos with Laureates in Economic Sciences

John Nash

"I Knew I Had a Good Idea"

In this interview Dr. John Nash, 1994 Laureate in Economic Sciences, talks about the impact the Prize had on his life, his talent for mathematics as a child, and shares his thoughts about the movie on his life, A Beautiful Mind.

Daniel Kahneman

"We Studied Intuitions"

Daniel Kahneman, awarded the 2002 Prize, integrated insights from psychology into economics, thereby laying the foundation for a new field of research. His held his Prize Lecture Maps of Bounded Rationality on 8 December 2002.

Elonor Ostrom

A Deeper Understanding of Economic Governance

In this interview, 2009 Laureates Elinor Ostrom and Oliver E. Williamson talk about their research.

"I Will Try to Retrace the Steps"

Paul Krugman, awarded the 2008 Prize in Economic Sciences, talked about The Increasing Returns Revolution in Trade and Geography in his Prize Lecture held on 8 December 2008.