Literature Laureate
Nobel Laureates

See all Nobel Laureates in Literature and why they were awarded the Nobel Prize.

All Nobel Laureates in Literature


Awards: 107 Prizes to 111 Laureates
Prizes shared between two Laureates: 4
Awarded women: 13
Average age of a Literature Laureate: 65

More facts on the Nobel Prize in Literature
The Nobel Prize Medal for Literature. Registered trademark of the Nobel Foundation. © ® The Nobel Foundation

The Nobel Prize in Literature

Awarded to 111 Nobel Laureates since 1901

"The said interest shall be divided into five equal parts, which shall be apportioned as follows: /- - -/ one part to the person who shall have produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction ..."

(Excerpt from the will of Alfred Nobel)

Alfred Nobel had broad cultural interests. During his early youth, he developed his literary interests which lasted throughout his life. His library consisted of a rich and broad selection of literature in different languages. During the last years of his life, he tried his hand as an author and began writing fiction. Literature was the fourth prize area Nobel mentioned in his will.

The Nobel Prize in Literature is awarded by the Swedish Academy, Stockholm, Sweden.

2014 Literature Prize

Patrick Modiano.

"for the art of memory with which he has evoked the most ungraspable human destinies"

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2014 was awarded to Patrick Modiano.

Biobibliographical notes
Patrick Modiano reading

"Missing, a young girl, Dora Bruder, age 15"

Memory, identity and time are central themes for Patrick Modiano. Read, or listen to, an excerpt from his book Dora Bruder.

Excerpt from the book

Patrick Modiano's Nobel Diploma

Designs Related to Each Laureate

In the Nobel Diplomas, the artists try to summarize something of the atmosphere and character of each author's works.

Have a closer look at Patrick Modiano's diploma

World map

Language: French

Patrick Modiano writes in French. Most common languages for the 111 Literature Laureates:

  • 27 Laureates write in English
  • 14 Laureates write in French
  • 13 Laureates write in German
  • 11 Laureates write in Spanish

Literature Laureates and languages

Have You Read William Golding's Lord of the Flies?

Lord of the Flies Game

Lord of the Flies Game

The aim of this game is to introduce some basic analytical aspects of the book and to challenge the reader's memory through play.

Play the Lord of the Flies Game!

Recommend a Book!

Hav you read anything by William Golding or by another author awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature?

Tell us about your favorite book!
Thumb up

"Still Relevant and Powerful Today - Simply Genius"

Discover our visitors' thoughts about Lord of the Flies and many other books.

Read the recommendations