Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Prize in Literature 1966
Shmuel Agnon, Nelly Sachs

Share this:


Translations into English
The Bridal Canopy / rendered into English by I. M. Lask. – Garden City, N.Y. : Doubleday, 1937
In the Heart of the Seas / translated from the Hebrew by I.M. Lask. – New York : Schocken Books, 1948
Betrothed ; & Edo and Enam : Two Tales / translated by Walter Lever. – New York : Schocken, 1966
A Guest for the Night / translated from the Hebrew by Misha Louvish, edited by Naftali C. Brandwein and Allen Mandelbaum. – London : Gollancz, 1968
Twenty-One Stories / edited by Nahum N. Glatzer. – New York : Schocken, 1970
Selected Stories of S. Y. Agnon / edited with introd., interpretations, and vocabulary, by Samuel Leiter. – New York : Tarbuth Foundation, 1970
A Dwelling Place of My People : Sixteen Stories of the Chassidim / translated from the Hebrew by J. Weinberg and H. Russell. – Edinburgh : Scottish Academic Press, 1983
A Simple Story / translated and with an afterword by Hillel Halkin. – New York : Schocken, 1985
Shira / translated from the Hebrew by Zeva Shapiro ; with an afterword by Robert Alter. – New York : Schocken, 1989
A Book That Was Lost and Other Stories / edited with introductions by Alan Mintz and Anne Golomb Hoffman. – New York : Schoken, 1995
Agnon's Alef bet : Poems / translated by Robert Friend ; illustrated by Arieh Zeldich. – Philadelphia : Jewish Publication Society, 1998
Only Yesterday / translated by Barbara Harshav. – Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, 2000
To This Day / translated and with an introduction by Hillel Halkin. – New Milford, Conn. : Toby Press. – 2008
Critical studies (a selection)
Martin, Werner, Samuel Josef Agnon : eine Bibliographie seiner Werke. – Hildesheim : Georg Olms Verlag, 1980
Shaked, Gershon, Shmuel Yosef Agnon : a Revolutionary Traditionalist / translated by Jeffrey M. Green. – New York : New York University Press, 1989
Ben-Dov, Nitza, Agnon's Art of Indirection : Uncovering Latent Content in the Fiction of S. Y. Agnon. – Leiden : Brill, 1993
Oz, Amos, The Silence of Heaven : Agnon's Fear of God / translated from the Hebrew by Barbara Harshaw. – Princeton, N.J. : Princeton Univ. Press, 2000

The Swedish Academy, 2010

Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Shmuel Agnon - Bibliography". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 21 Dec 2014. <>


Which Nobel Laureates are hidden within the maze of letters?


All you need to know about the Literature Prize!


Read about Alfred Nobel's Will and the Literature Prize.