Nobel Prize in Physics 2012 to be announced soon
Physics Prizes and Laureates

2014 Physics Prize will be announced in:

34 days

Tuesday 7 October, 11:45 a.m.


Awards: 107 Prizes to 196 Laureates
Prizes to one Laureate only: 47
Awarded women: 2
Average age of a Physics Laureate: 55
More facts on the Nobel Prize in Physics

The Nobel Prize in Physics

Awarded to 196 Nobel Laureates since 1901

“The said interest shall be divided into five equal parts, which shall be apportioned as follows: /- - -/ one part to the person who shall have made the most important discovery or invention within the field of physics ...”

(Excerpt from the will of Alfred Nobel)

Physics was the prize area which Alfred Nobel mentioned first in his will. At the end of the nineteenth century, many people considered physics as the foremost of the sciences, and perhaps Nobel saw it this way as well. His own research was also closely tied to physics.

The Nobel Prize in Physics is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm, Sweden.

2013 Physics Prize

Big bang illustration

The Theory of How Particles Acquire Mass

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2013 was awarded jointly to François Englert and Peter W. Higgs.

François Englert

"Inside the Atom there Are Particles Called Quarks"

François Englert explains his work in simple terms

Nobel Diploma

A Work of Art in Miniature

Each Nobel Diploma is a unique work of art.

Watch François Englert's diploma

Transistors - Fundamental in Electronic Devices

The Transistor Recycler Game

Play and Learn!

A transistor is made of a solid piece of a semiconductor material and either used as switches, to turn electronic signals on or off – or, as amplifiers.

Play the Transistor Recycler Game or try and build a transistor replica!

The Transistor

Transistors are devices that control the movement of electrons, and consequently, electricity. They are the major component in all digital circuits, including computer microprocessors which contain millions of microscopic transistors.

The Transistor in a Century of Electronics



PHYSICS PRIZE 1956 William Shockley, John Bardeen and Walter Brattain were awarded a Nobel Prize for the invention of the transistor in 1947. John Bardeen is the only person awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics twice.

More on the Laureates