Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1979
Sheldon Glashow, Abdus Salam, Steven Weinberg

Share this:

Steven Weinberg - Facts

Steven Weinberg

Steven Weinberg

Born: 3 May 1933, New York, NY, USA

Affiliation at the time of the award: Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA

Prize motivation: "for their contributions to the theory of the unified weak and electromagnetic interaction between elementary particles, including, inter alia, the prediction of the weak neutral current"

Field: particle physics

Prize share: 1/3

Extended and Deepened our Understanding of the Weak Force

According to modern physics, there are four fundamental forces in nature. Electromagnetic interaction is one of these. The weak interaction, responsible for e.g. the beta-decay of nuclei is another. With theoretical contributions by Steven Weinberg, Sheldon Glashow and Abdus Salam in 1968, these two interactions were unified to one single, called electroweak. The theory envisaged e.g. so called weak neutral currents in certain interactions of elementary particles, an effect later confirmed in experiments.

Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Steven Weinberg - Facts". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 21 Dec 2014. <>


Your mission is to arrange an amazing laser party!


Read more about the Nobel Prize in Physics.


All you want to know about the Nobel Prize in Physics!