Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

21 Heads of State Awarded a Nobel Prize

The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to 14 heads of state, at the time of the award. Two former presidents and four future presidents have also been awarded a Nobel Peace Prize. One prime minister at the time of the award, Winston Churchill, was awarded the 1953 Nobel Prize in Literature. The Nobel Peace Prize has frequently caused controversy. One reason is that many Laureates have been contemporary and highly controversial political actors.


14 Nobel Laureates were Heads of State at the Time of the Award:

Ellen Johnson Sirlea

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, President of Liberia

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf was awarded the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize

Barack Obama

Barack Obama, President of the U.S.A.

Barack Obama was awarded the 2009 Nobel Peace Prize

Kim Dae-jung

Kim Dae-jung, President of South Korea

Kim Dae-jung was awarded the 2000 Nobel Peace Prize

Yitzhak Rabin

Yitzhak Rabin, Prime Minister of Israel

Yitzhak Rabin was awarded the 1994 Nobel Peace Prize

Frederik Willem de Klerk

F. W. de Klerk, President of South Africa

F. W. de Klerk was awarded the 1993 Nobel Peace Prize

Mikhail Gorbachev

Mikhail Gorbachev, President of USSR

Mikhail Gorbachev was awarded the 1990 Nobel Peace Prize

Oscar Arias Sánchez

Oscar Arias Sánchez, President of Costa Rica

Oscar Arias Sánchez was awarded the 1987 Nobel Peace Prize

Anwar al-Sadat

Anwar al-Sadat, President of Egypt

Anwar al-Sadat was awarded the 1978 Nobel Peace Prize

Menachem Begin

Menachem Begin, Prime Minister of Israel

Menachem Begin was awarded the 1978 Nobel Peace Prize

Eisaku Sato

Eisaku Sato, Prime Minister of Japan

Eisaku Sato was awarded the 1974 Nobel Peace Prize

Willy Brandt

Willy Brandt, Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany

Willy Brandt was awarded the 1971 Nobel Peace Prize

Hjalmar Branting

Hjalmar Branting, Prime Minister of Sweden

Hjalmar Branting was awarded the 1921 Nobel Peace Prize.

Woodrow Wilson

Woodrow Wilson, President of the U.S.A.

Woodrow Wilson was awarded the 1919 Nobel Peace Prize

Theodore Roosevelt

Theodore Roosevelt, President of U.S.A.

Theodore Roosevelt was awarded the 1906 Nobel Peace Prize

Winston Churchill

Winston Churchill, Prime Minister of the U.K.

Winston Churchill was awarded the 1953 Nobel Prize in Literature

Two Nobel Laureates were Former Presidents:

Martti Ahtisaari

Martti Ahtisaari, President of Finland

Martii Ahtisaari was awarded the 2008 Nobel Peace Prize

Jimmy Carter

Jimmy Carter, President of the U.S.A.

Jimmy Carter was awarded the 2002 Nobel Peace Prize

Four Nobel Laureates were Future Presidents:

Rosalyn Yalow

José Ramos-Horta, President of East Timor

José Ramos-Horta was awarded the 1996 Nobel Peace Prize

Shimon Peres

Shimon Peres, President of Israel

Shimon Peres was awarded the 1994 Nobel Peace Prize

Nelson Mandela

Nelson Mandela, President of South Africa

Nelson Mandela was awarded the 1993 Nobel Peace Prize

Lech Walesa

Lech Walesa, President of Poland

Lech Walesa was awarded the 1983 Nobel Peace Prize


Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Presidents and prime ministers awarded a Nobel Prize". Nobel Media AB 2013. Web. 16 Apr 2014. <>