Norwegian Nobel Committee

The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded by a committee of five, appointed by the Storting (the Norwegian parliament).

The Norwegian Nobel Committee 2018


Berit Reiss-Andersen (Chair)

Henrik Syse (Vice Chair)
Professor, Senior Researcher at the International Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO)

Anne Enger
Independent adviser, former County Governor and member of Parliament/government

Asle Toje
Research Director at the Norwegian Nobel Institute

Thorbjørn Jagland
Secretary General Council of Europe

Olav Njølstad
Professor (Secretary)

According to the rules laid down by the Storting, election to the committee is for a six-year term, and members can be re-elected. The committee’s composition reflects the relative strengths of the political parties in the Storting. Although this is not a requirement, all committee members have been Norwegian nationals.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee – Prize Awarder for the Nobel Peace Prize

More information on the Norwegian Nobel Committee

Process of Nomination and Selection of Peace Prize Laureates

Norwegian Nobel Institute – Lecture Series

To cite this section
MLA style: Norwegian Nobel Committee. Nobel Media AB 2021. Sun. 17 Jan 2021. <>