Nobel Week Dialogue

Stockholm, 9 December 2022

The Future of Life

Our line up of panellists participating in this year's Nobel Week Dialogue include world-leading experts and inspiring thought leaders.

Frances Arnold

Nobel Prize laureate

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018.

Frances Arnold received the chemistry prize for pioneering directed enzyme evolution methods used widely for applications across medicine, consumer products, agriculture, fuels and chemicals.

More about Frances Arnold

Photo Camilla Bredberg.jpg

Camilla Bredberg teaches Geography and Natural Science at Blackeberg Gymnasium in Stockholm. She is committed to helping her students take on the climate crisis by sharing insights concerning the importance of the efforts of all towards finding solutions.

More about Camilla Bredberg

A photo of Camila Brudin Borg

Camilla Brudin Borg concluded her education at the University of Gothenburg with a PhD in Literary studies in 2005. She completed her postdoctoral fellowship at the Søren Kierkegaard Research Centre in Copenhagen.

More about Camilla Brudin Borg

Photo Paola Caselli_photocredit Axel Griesch (Max Planck Society).jpg

Paola Caselli studied astronomy and molecular spectroscopy at the University of Bologna, where she obtained her PhD in Astronomy in 1994, after extensive work in the United States at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics.

More about Paola Caselli

Steven Chu

Nobel Prize in Physics 1997.

Steven Chu developed the theory of laser cooling of actual, multilevel atoms and has recently focused on new solutions to our energy and climate challenges.

More about Steven Chu


Nobel Prize laureate

Nobel Prize in Physics 2020.

Andrea Ghez is professor of physics and astronomy and Lauren B. Leichtman & Arthur E. Levine chair in Astrophysics at University of California – Los Angeles (UCLA). Ghez is one of the world’s leading experts in observational astrophysics and heads UCLA’s Galactic Center Group.

More about Andrea Ghez

Serge Haroche

Nobel Prize laureate

Nobel Prize in Physics 2012

Serge Haroche is professor emeritus at Collège de France. His main research activities have been in quantum optics and quantum information science. Serge Haroche will participate on-site.

More about Serge Haroche

Photo Alice Heiman.jpg

Alice Heiman is a student with a passion for exploring the world through the lens of technology. She started to teach coding at 15 within the non-profit organisation Hello World! Since then, Heiman has advocated getting programming into the Swedish educational curriculum.

More about Alice Heiman


Carl-Henrik Heldin is a cancer researcher interested in the elucidation of signalling pathways regulating cell proliferation, migration and survival, and how these pathways are perturbed in cancer cells. He is the chair of the Boards of the Nobel Foundation.

More about Carl-Henrik Heldin

Photo_Kirkwood August 2018.jpg

Tom Kirkwood studies why and how we age. He proposed the disposable soma theory to explain evolution of ageing, and pioneered the use of network approaches to investigate the complexity of its underlying mechanisms.

More about Tom Kirkwood

Photo_Benjamin_List_ credit Henning Kretschmer.jpg

Nobel Prize laureate

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2021

List is a director of research at Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung in Mülheim, Ruhr. He also heads a research group at Hokkaido University in Japan and is an honorary professor at the University of Cologne.

More about Benjamin List


Helga Nowotny is former president of the European Research Council and professor emerita of Science and Technology Studies, ETH Zurich, and a founding member of the European Research Council.

More about Helga Nowotny

Photo Paul Nurse_2.webp

Nobel Prize laureate

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2001.

Paul Nurse is Director of the Francis Crick Institute in London, Chancellor of the University of Bristol, and has served as President of the Royal Society, Chief Executive of Cancer Research UK and President of Rockefeller University. 

More about Paul Nurse

Didier Queloz

Nobel Prize laureate

Nobel Prize in Physics 2019.

Didier Queloz received the Nobel Prize for his discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a star outside our solar system. His research has continued to focus on exoplanet systems, and more recently on the detection of Earth-like planets and universal life.

More about Didier Queloz

Stuart Russell_credit Peg Skorpinski.jpeg

Stuart Russell is a Professor of Computer Science at the University of California at Berkeley, holder of the Smith-Zadeh Chair in Engineering, and Director of the Center for Human-Compatible AI and the Kavli Center for Ethics, Science, and the Public.

More about Stuart Russell

Birgit Skarstein.jpg

Birgit Skarstein is a Norwegian Paralympic athlete competing in rowing and Nordic skiing. She is seven time World Champion in rowing and gold medalist in the Paralympic Games in Tokyo 2021.

More about Birgit Skarstein

Adam Smith

As chief scientific officer for Nobel Prize Outreach, Adam Smith has played a key role in putting together the Nobel Week Dialogue. His background is in scientific research and science publishing.

More about Adam Smith

Laura Sprechmann

Laura Sprechmann is CEO for Nobel Prize Outreach, the company that aims to spread knowledge and raise interest in the Nobel Prize-awarded achievements to a global audience, through digital media and international events.

More about Laura Sprechmann

Nobel Week Dialogue 2022