New will

Nobel Prize in Physics 2018

The 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded with one half to Arthur Ashkin "for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems" and the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland "for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses".

© Johan Jarnestad / The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

"Nobody is prepared for that kind of moment." Gérard Mourou shares his reaction to being awarded the Nobel Prize when we reached him for to a telephone interview following the announcement of the 2018 Physics Prize.

Gérard Mourou

Ill. Niklas Elmehed. © Nobel Media

Donna Strickland never worked as hard or had as much fun as when she was performing the research that led her to the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics. We talked to her after the prize had been announced.

Donna Strickland

Ill. Niklas Elmehed. © Nobel Media


Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018

This year’s Nobel Laureates have been inspired by the power of evolution and used the same principles – genetic change and selection – to develop proteins that solve humankind’s chemical problems.

© Johan Jarnestad / The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2018

James P Allison has always considered himself a basic scientist, but his research has been successfully used in cancer therapy. We reached him when he was celebrating the news with friends in a hotel room in New York.

James P. Allison

James P. Allison

Ill. Niklas Elmehed. © Nobel Media

Nobel Peace Prize 2018

Both laureates have made a crucial contribution to focusing attention on, and combating, war crimes. Denis Mukwege is the helper who has devoted his life to defending these victims. Nadia Murad is the witness who tells of the abuses perpetrated against herself and others. Each of them in their own way has helped to give greater visibility to war-time sexual violence, so that the perpetrators can be held accountable for their actions.

Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad

Ill. Niklas Elmehed. © Nobel Media

The Prize in Economic Sciences 2018

This year’s Laureates have designed methods for addressing some of our time’s most basic and pressing questions about how we create long-term sustained and sustainable economic growth. Their contributions provide us with fundamental insights into the causes and consequences of technological innovation and climate change.


© Johan Jarnestad / The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

The Prize in Economic Sciences 2018 has been awarded to William D. Nordhaus "for integrating climate change into long-run macroeconomic analysis" and Paul M. Romer "for integrating technological innovations into long-run macroeconomic analysis." Their findings have significantly broadened the scope of economic analysis by constructing models that explain how the market economy interacts with nature and knowledge.

William D. Nordhaus and Paul M. Romer

Ill. Niklas Elmehed. © Nobel Media

In 2018, three new women joined the list of inspirational female laureates that have made our world a better place.


From Nadia Murad, campaigning to end sexual violence in war, and Frances Arnold, who conducted the first directed evolution of enzymes, to Donna Strickland, whose work revolutionised laser technology - these are women who changed the world.



The new Nobel Prize Lessons about this year's prizes are reliable and easy to use. Find the teacher's guides, slides, manuscripts and videos to use for free here. Print the texts for students and then start the class.


The announcement of the Nobel Laureates and the Laureates in Economic Sciences for the year is made on the same day that the Nobel Prize awarding institutions choose from among the names recommended by the respective Nobel Committees.

Information for media

A new English translation of Alfred Nobel's will - the document that sparked the creation of the Nobel Prize - has now been completed, making Nobel's original thinking even more accessible.


Here, Lars Heikensten, the Executive Director of the Nobel Foundation, answers questions about the latest translation and explains why Nobel's intentions and values are more relevant than ever.


Golden background

Youngest Nobel Laureate ever is Malala Yousafzai. She was 17 years old when she was awarded the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize.

Malala Yousafzai

What are you looking for? Search the website.

Connect with us

Facebook Facebook Icon Like The Nobel Prize on Facebook 4,200,000 likes Twitter Twitter Icon Follow The Nobel Prize on Twitter 440,000+ followers Instagram Instagram Icon Follow The Nobel Prize on Instagram 210,000+ followers YouTube Youtube Icon Follow The Nobel Prize on Youtube 110,000+ subscribers
9 December 2018

Water is essential to the survival of humanity. Every drop is precious. The Nobel Week Dialogue is a free of charge, full-day event bringing together Nobel Laureates, experts and the public. This year’s dialogue will put the spotlight on the importance of water, and why and how we can make a difference together.

20180810 Hero Post Water Matters Background 1

© Nobel Media

Sign up to our newsletter

Join thousands of global subscribers enjoying the free monthly Nobel Prize highlights, trivia and up-to-date information.

Nobel destinations

Stockholm, Sweden
The Nobel Prize: Ideas Changing the World (3)

The museum showcases the discoveries and creativity of the Nobel Laureates.

Photo: Åke Eson Lindman

NPC Nye Nobels Hage 10

The story of each Peace Laureate is told at the museum.

Photo: Johannes Granseth / Nobel Peace Center

In memoriam

Paul Greengard passed away on 13 April. He was awarded the 2000 Medicine Prize for his discovery of how dopamine and a number of other transmitters exert their action in the nervous system. Paul Greengard was 93 years old.

Paul Greengard

David J. Thouless was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 2016. His discoveries  have brought about breakthroughs in the theoretical understanding of matter’s mysteries.

David J. Thouless

Medicine Laureate Sydney Brenner, awarded for his discoveries concerning the genetic regulation of organ development and programmed cell death, passed away on 5 April, age 92.

Sydney Brenner

Physics Laureate Zhores I. Alferov passed away on 1 March. His Nobel Prize awarded work laid the foundation of modern information technology, IT.

Zhores I. Alferov