Nobel Prize Concert 2021

Two charismatic musical artists to share Nobel Prize Concert stage

Acclaimed Argentina-born cellist Sol Gabetta will be performing at this year’s Nobel Prize Concert on 8 December. She will share the stage with American conductor Ryan Bancroft. Tickets are now on sale at Konserthuset Stockholm.

Sol Gabetta performs regularly with world-leading orchestras and conductors and has received several awards. Her charismatic stage personality and captivating interpretations have paved the way for a career that has taken her to the most prestigious stages and festivals.

At the 2021 Nobel Prize Concert, she will be the soloist in Camille Saint-Saëns’ Cello Concert No. 1 − a radiant and blossoming piece of music that is considered one of the most beautiful compositions for the Instrument. The concert will be her first with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra at Konserthuset Stockholm.

Sol Gabetta 2018 photo julia wesely
Sol Gabetta.  © Julia Wesely

Ryan Bancroft‘s career has skyrocketed since he won the prestigious Malko Competition for Young Conductors in 2018 and he is widely recognised as one of the most exciting new conducting talents to have emerged in recent years. He is rapidly building relationships with major orchestras around the world. In September 2019 he was appointed as Principal Conductor of the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and is also Artist in Association with the Tapiola Sinfonietta in Finland. Originally a trumpeter he also studied harp, flute, cello and Ghanaian music and dance.

Ryan Bancroft
Ryan Bancroft Credit: Per Morton

The concert will begin with Excelsior! – a Swedish orchestral piece filled with ecstatic energy that was composed in 1896 by Wilhelm Stenhammar, then aged 25. This is followed by the Cello Concerto No. 1 by Saint-Saëns with soloist Sol Gabetta. Following the interval, Ryan Bancroft will lead the orchestra in the rhythmic and whimsical piece The Spark Catchers, a 2017 work by British composer Hannah Kendall. The concert will conclude with the fiery orchestral dreams of Spain conveyed by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s playful and virtuosic Capriccio espagnol.

Tickets to the 8 December concert in Stockholm are on sale at Konserthuset Stockholm. The concert will also be streamed live on

The Nobel Prize Concert is an annual concert that is part of the Nobel Week official program celebrating that year’s Nobel Laureates. It is presented by Nobel Prize Outreach in cooperation with Konserthuset Stockholm.

To cite this section
MLA style: Nobel Prize Concert 2021. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2021. Sun. 28 Nov 2021. <>