Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Press Release

Announcement of the 2001 Nobel Prizes and the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

August 27, 2001


The Nobel Foundation wishes to inform you that the Prize-Awarding Institutions have set the following dates for their announcement of the respective Nobel Prize winners for 2001:

Monday, October 8
(11:30 a.m. at the earliest)
Physiology or Medicine
(The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet)
Tuesday, October 9
(11:45 a.m. at the earliest)
(The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences)
Wednesday, October 10
(Chemistry 11:45 a.m.
at the earliest,
Economics 15:15 p.m.
at the earliest)

Chemistry and Economics
(The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences)
Friday, October 12
(11:00 a.m.)
(The Norwegian Nobel Committee in Oslo)


In keeping with tradition, the Swedish Academy will set the date for its announcement of the Literature Prize later

Each 2001 Nobel Prize will amount to 10.0 million Swedish kronor (2000: MSEK 9.0). In other words the sum of the Nobel Prizes (Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature and Peace) will be MSEK 50.0. In addition, the Sveriges Riksbank (Bank of Sweden) Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel will amount to MSEK 10.0.

For further information, please contact Mrs Camilla Hyltén-Cavallius or Mrs Kristina Fallenius at the press office,
phone +46 8 663 14 83 or +46 8 663 14 63

Stockholm August 27, 2001


Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "The Nobel Foundation - Press Release". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 17 Oct 2017. <>