Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Chemistry 1981-1990


Edited by Bo G Malmström (Chalmers University of Technology & Göteborg University, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Chemistry during the period 1981-1990 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(1981) K Fukui & R Hoffmann - for their theories, developed independently, concerning the course of chemical reactions;

(1982) A Klug - for his development of crystallographic electron microscopy and his structural elucidation of biologically important nuclei acid-protein complexes;

(1983) H Taube - for his work on the mechanisms of electron transfer reactions, especially in metal complexes;

(1984) R B Merrifield - for his development of the methodology for chemical synthesis on a solid matrix;

(1985) H A Hauptman & J Karle - for their outstanding achievements in the development of direct methods for the determination of crystal structures;

(1986) D R Herschbach, Y T Lee & J C Polanyi - for their contributions concerning the dynamics of chemical elementary processes;

(1987) D J Cram, J-M Lehn & C J Pedersen - for their development and use of molecules with structure-specific interactions of high selectivity;

(1988) J Deisenhofer, R Huber & H Michel - for the determination of the three-dimensional structure of a photosynthetic reaction centre;

(1989) S Altman & T R Cech - for their discovery of catalytic properties of RNA;

(1990) E J Corey - for his development of the theory and methodology of organic synthesis.

Pub. date: January 1993
ISBN 981-02-0788-3 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-0789-1 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lecture Series : Chemistry 1981-1990". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 25 Sep 2017. <>