Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Chemistry 1991-1995


Edited by Bo G Malmström (Göteborg University, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laurates in Chemistry during the period 1991-1995 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(1991) R R Ernst - for his contributions to the development of the methodology of high resolution nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy;

(1992) R A Marcus - for his contributions to the theory of electron transfer reactions in chemical systems;

(1993) For contributions to the developments of methods within DNA-based chemistry: K B Mullis - for his invention of the polymerase chain reaction (PCR) method; M Smith - for his fundamental contributions to the establishment of oligonucleiotide-based, site-directed mutagenesis and its development for protein studies;

(1994) G A Olah - for his contribution to carbocation chemistry;

(1995) P Crutzen, M J Molina & F S Rowland - for their work in atmospheric chemistry, particularly concerning the formation and decomposition of ozone.

Pub. date: Autumn 1996
ISBN 981-02-2679-9 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-2680-2 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Chemistry 1991-1995". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 23 Sep 2017. <>