Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Chemistry 1996-2000


Edited by Ingmar Grethe (Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Chemistry during the period 1996-2000 with a description of the work with the Nobel Prize:

(1996) R F Curl, Jr, H W Kroto and R E Smalley – for their discovery of fullerenes;

(1997) P D Boyer and J E Walker – for their elucidation of the enzymatic mechanism underlying the synthesis of adenosine triphosphate (ATP) and; J C Skou – for the first discovery of an ion-transporting enzyme, Na+, K+-ATPase;

(1998) W Kohn – for his development of the density-functional theory and; J A Pople – for his development of computational methods in quantum chemistry;

(1999) A H Zewail – for his studies of the transition states of chemical reactions using femtosecond spectroscopy;

(2000) A J Heeger, A G MacDiarmid and H Shirakawa – for the discovery and development of conductive polymers.

476 pp
Pub. date: May 2003
ISBN 981-02-4958-6 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-4959-4 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Chemistry 1996-2000". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 25 Sep 2017. <>