Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Prize Lectures in Economic Sciences 2001-2005


The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

Edited by Peter Englund (Stockholm School of Economics, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Laureates in Economic Sciences during the period 2001-2005 with a description of the work awarded with the Prize in Economic Sciences:

(2001) George A Akerlof, A Michael Spence and Joseph Stiglitz – for their analyses of markets with asymmetric information;

(2002) Daniel Kahneman – for having integrated insights from psychological research into economic science, especially concerning human judgment and decision-making under uncertainty and Vernon L Smith – for having established laboratory experiments as a tool in empirical economic analysis, especially in the study of alternative market mechanisms;

(2003) Robert F Engle III – for methods of analyzing economic time series with time-varying volatility (ARCH) and Clive W J Granger – for methods of analyzing economic time series with common trends (cointegration);

(2004) Finn E Kydland and Edward C Prescott – for their contributions to dynamic macroeconomics: the time consistency of economic policy and the driving forces behind business cycles;

(2005) Robert J Aumann and Thomas C Schelling – for having enhanced our understanding of conflict and cooperation through game-theory analysis.

540 pp
Pub. date: Junly 2008
ISBN 981-279-438-3 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-279-439-5 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Prize Lectures in Economic Sciences 2001-2005". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 24 Sep 2017. <>