Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Prize Lectures in Economic Sciences 1981-1990


The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

Edited by Karl-Göran Mäler (Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Laureates in Economic Sciences during the period 1981-1990 with a description of the work awarded with the Prize in Economic Sciences:

(1981) J Tobin - for his analysis of financial markets and their relations to expenditure decisions, employment, production and prices;

(1982) G J Stigler - for his seminal studies of industrial structures, functioning of markets and causes and effects of public regulation;

(1983) G Debreu - for having incorporated new analytical methods into economic theory and for his rigorous reformulation of the theory of general equilibrium;

(1984) R Stone - for having made fundamental contributions to the development of systems of national accounts and hence greatly improved the basis for empirical economic analysis;

(1985) F Modigliani - for his pioneering analyses of saving and of financial markets;

(1986) J Buchanan, Jr. - for his development of the contractual and constitutional bases for the theory of economic and political decision-making;

(1987) R M Solow - for his contributions to the theory of economic growth;

(1988) M Allais - for his pioneering contributions to the theory of markets and efficient utilization of resources;

(1989) T Haavelmo - for his clarification of the probability theory foundations of econometrics and his analyses of simultaneous economic structures;

(1990) H M Markowitz, M H Miller and W F Sharpe - for their pioneering work in the theory of financial economics.

Pub. date: September 1992
ISBN 981-02-0835-9 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-0836-7 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Prize Lectures in Economic Sciences 1981-1990". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 26 Sep 2017. <>