Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Literature 2001-2005


Edited by Horace Engdahl (Swedish Academy, Stockholm, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Literature during the period 2001-2005 with a description of the work awared with the Nobel Prize:

(2001) Sir Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul – for having united perceptive narrative and incorruptible scrutiny in works that compel us to see the presence of suppressed histories;

(2002) Imre Kertész – for writing that upholds the fragile experience of the individual against the barbaric arbitrariness of history;

(2003) John M Coetzee – who in innumerable guises portrays the surprising involvement of the outsider;

(2004) Elfriede Jelinek – for her musical flow of voices and counter-voices in novels and plays that with extraordinary linguistic zeal reveal the absurdity of society's clichés and their subjugating power;

(2005) Harold Pinter – who in his plays uncovers the precipice under everyday prattle and forces entry into oppression's closed rooms.

116 pp
Pub. date: September 2008
ISBN 981-279-435-2 (hardcover)
SBN 981-279-436-9 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Literature 2001-2005". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 19 Oct 2017. <>