Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Literature 1981-1990


Edited by Sture Allén (Swedish Academy, Stockholm, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Literature during the period 1981-1990 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(1981) E Canetti - for writings marked by a broad outlook, a wealth of ideas and artistic power;

(1982) G G Márquez - for his novels and short stories, in which the fantastic and the realistic are combined in a richly composed world of imagination, reflecting a continent's life and conflicts;

(1983) W Golding - for his novels which, with the perspicuity of realistic narrative art and the diversity and universality of myth, illuminate the human condition in the world of today;

(1984) J Seifert - for his poetry which endowed with freshness, sensuality and rich inventiveness provides a liberating image of the indomitable spirit and versatility of man;

(1985) C Simon - who in his novel combines the poet's and the painter's creativeness with a deepened awareness of time in the depiction of the human condition;

(1986) W Soyinka - who in a wide cultural perspective and with poetic overtones fashions the drama of existence;

(1987) J Brodsky - for an all-embracing authorship imbued with clarity of thought and poetic intensity;

(1988) N Mahfouz - who, through works rich in nuance - now clearsightedly realistic, now evocatively ambiguous - has formed an Arabian narrative art that applies to all mankind;

(1989) C J Cela - for a rich and intensive prose, which with restrained compassion forms a challenging vision of man's vulnerability;

(1990) O Paz - for impassioned writing with wide horizons, characterized by sensuous intelligence and humanistic integrity.

Pub. date: June 1994
ISBN 981-02-1176-7 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-1177-5 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Literature 1981-1990". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 24 Oct 2017. <>