Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Literature 1991-1995


Edited by Sture Allén (Swedish Academy, Stockholm, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Literature during the period 1991-1995 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(1991) N Gordimer - who through her magnificent epic writing has, in the words of Alfred Nobel, been of very great benefit to humanity;

(1992) D Walcott- for a poetic oeuvre of great luminosity, sustained by a historical vision, the outcome of a multicultural commitment;

(1993) T Morrison - who in novels characterized by visionary force and poetic import, gives life to an essential aspect of American reality;

(1994) K Oe - who with poetic force creates an imagined world, where life and myth condense to form a disconcerting picture of the human predicament today;

(1995) S Heaney - for works of lyrical beauty and ethical depth, which exalt everyday miracles and the living past.

Pub. date: March 1997
ISBN 981-02-2720-5 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-2721-3 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Literature 1991-1995". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 17 Oct 2017. <>