Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Peace 2001-2005


Edited by Irwin Abrams (Antioch University, USA)

Below is a list of the Nobel Peace Prize Laureates during the period 2001-2005 with a description of the work with the Nobel Prize:

(2001) United Nations and Kofi A Annan – for their work for a better organized and more peaceful World;

(2002) Jimmy Carter – for his decades of untiring effort to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development;

(2003) Shirin Ebadi – for her efforts for democracy and human rights. She has focused especially on the struggle for the rights of women and children;

(2004) Wangari Maathai – for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace;

(2005) International Atomic Energy Agency and Mohamed Elbaradei – for their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way.

172 pp
Pub. date: June 2009
ISBN 981-279-432-1 (hardbound)
ISBN 981-279-433-8 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Peace 2001-2005". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 23 Sep 2017. <>