Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Peace 1996-2000


Edited by Irwin Abrams (Antioch University, USA)

Below is a list of the Nobel Peace Prize Laureates during the period 1991-1995 with a description of the work with the Nobel Prize:

(1996) Carlos Filipe Ximenes Belo, José Ramos-Horta – for their work towards a just and peaceful solution to the conflict in East Timor;

(1997) International Campaign to Ban Landmines, Jody Williams – for their work for the banning and cleaning of anti-personnel mines;

(1998) John Hume, David Trimble – for their efforts to find a peaceful solution to the conflict in Northern Ireland;

(1999) Doctors without Borders (Médecins Sans Frontières) – in recognition of the organization's pioneering humanitarian work on several continents;

(2000) Kim Dae-jung – for his work for democracy and human rights in South Korea and in East Asia in general, and for peace and reconciliation with North Korea in particular.

180 pp
Pub. date: October 2005
ISBN 981-238-001-9 (hardbound)
ISBN 981-238-002-7 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Peace 1996-2000". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 22 Sep 2017. <>