Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Physics 1971-1980


Edited by Stig Lundqvist (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Physics for the period 1971-1980 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(1971) D Gabor - for his invention and development of the holographic method;

(1972) J Bardeen, L N Cooper and J R Schrieffer - for their jointly developed theory of superconductivity, usually called the BCS-theory;

(1973) L Esaki and I Giaever - for their experimental discoveries regarding tunneling phenomena in semiconductors and superconductors, respectively; B D Josephson - for his theoretical predictions of the properties of a supercurrent through a tunnel barrier, in particular those phenomena which are generally known as the Josephson effects;

(1974) M Ryle and A Hewish - for their pioneering research in radio astrophysics: Ryle for his observations and inventions, in particular of the aperture synthesis technique, and Hewish for his decisive role in the discovery of pulsars;

(1975) A Bohr, B Mottelson and J Rainwater for the discovery of the connection between collective motion and particle motion in atomic nuclei and the development of the theory of the structure of the atomic nucleus based on this connection;

(1976) B Richter and S C C Ting - for their pioneering work in the discovery of a heavy elementary particle of a new kind;

(1977) P W Anderson, N F Mott and J H Van Vleck - for their fundamental theoretical investigations of the electronic structure of magnetic and disordered systems;

(1978) P L Kapitsa - for his basic inventions and discoveries in the area of low-temperature physics; A A Penzias and R W Wilson - for their discoveries of cosmic microwave background radiation;

(1979) S L Glashow, A Salam and S Weinberg - for their contributions to the theory of the unified weak and electromagnetic interaction between elementary particles, including inter alia the prediction of the weak neutral current;

(1980) J W Cronin and V L Fitch - for the discovery of violations of fundamental symmetry principles in the decay of neutral K-mesons.

Pub. date: October 1992
ISBN 981-02-0726-3 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-0727-1 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Physics 1971-1980". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 21 Sep 2017. <>