Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Physics 1981-1990


Edited by Gösta Ekspong (University of Stockholm , Sweden)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Physics during the period 1981-1990 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(1981) N Bloembergen and A L Schawlow - for their contribution to the development of laser spectroscopy; K M Siegbahn - for his contribution to the development of high-resolution electron spectroscopy;

(1982) K G Wilson - for his theory for critical phenomena in connection with phase transitions;

(1983) S Chandraksekhar - for his theoretical studies of the physical processes of importance to the structure and evolution of the stars; W A Fowler - for his theoretical and experimental studies of the nuclear reactions of importance in the formation of the chemical elements in the universe;

(1984) C Rubbia and S Van Der Meer - for their decisive contributions to the large project, which led to the discovery of the field particles W and Z, communicators of weak interaction;

(1985) K Von Klitzing - for the discovery of the quantized Hall effect;

(1986) E Ruska - for his fundamental work in electron optics, and for the design of the first electron microscope; G Binnig and H Rohrer - for their design of the scanning tunneling microscope;

(1987) J G Bednorz and K A Müller - for their important breakthrough in the discovery of superconductivity in ceramic materials;

(1988) L M Lederman, M Schwartz and J Steinberger - for the neutrino beam method and the demonstration of the doublet structure of the leptons through the discovery of the muon neutrino;

(1989) N F Ramsay - for the invention of the separated oscillatory fields method and its use in the hydrogen maser and other atomic clocks; H G Dehmelt and W Paul - for the development of the ion trap technique;

(1990) J I Friedman, H W Kendall and R E Taylor - for their pioneering investigations concerning deep inelastic scattering of electrons on protons and bound neutrons, which have been of essential importance for the development of the quark model in particle physics.

Pub. date: February 1993
ISBN 981-02-0728-X (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-0729-8 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Physics 1981-1990". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 26 Sep 2017. <>