Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Physics 1991-1995


Edited by G Ekspong (University of Stockholm, Sweden)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Physics for the period 1971-1980 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(1991) P-G de Gennes - for discovering that methods developed for studying order phenomena in simple systems can be generalized to more complex forms of matter, in particular to liquid crystals and polymers;

(1992) G Charpak - for his invention and development of particle detectors, in particular the multiwire proportional chamber;

(1993) R A Hulse and J-H Taylor, Jr. - for the discovery of a new type of pulsar, a discovery that has opened up new possibilities for the study of gravitation;

(1994) B N Brockhouse - for the development of neutron spectroscopy; C G Shull - for the development of the neutron diffraction technique;

(1995) M L Perl - for the discovery of the tau lepton; F Reines - for the detection of the neutrino.

Pub. date: March 1997
ISBN 981-02-2677-2 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-2678-0 (pocketbook)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Physics 1991-1995". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 26 Sep 2017. <>