Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Physiology or Medicine 2001-2005

Edited by Hans Jornvall (Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Physiology or Medicine for the period 2001-2005 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(2001) Leland H Hartwell, Tim Hunt and Sir Paul Nurse – for their discoveries of key regulators of the cell cycle;

(2002) Sydney Brenner, H Robert Horvitz and John E Sulston – for their discoveries concerning genetic regulation of organ development and programmed cell death;

(2003) Paul C Lauterbur and Sir Peter Mansfield – for their discoveries concerning magnetic resonance imaging;

(2004) Richard Axel and Linda B Buck – for their discoveries of odorant receptors and the organization of the olfactory system;

(2005) Barry J Marshall and J Robin Warren – for their discovery of the bacterium Helicobacter pylori and its role in gastritis and peptic ulcer disease.

408 pp
Pub. date: July 2008
ISBN 981-279-441-3 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-279-442-0 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Physiology or Medicine 2001-2005". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 22 Sep 2017. <>