Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Physiology or Medicine 1981-1990


Edited by Jan Lindsten (Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in Physiology or Medicine for the period 1981-1990 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(1981) R W Serry - for his discoveries concerning the functional specialization of the cerebral hemispheres; D H Hubel and T N Wiesel - for their discoveries concerning information processing in the visual system;

(1982) S K Bergström, B I Samuelsson and J R Vane - for their discoveries concerning prostaglandins and related biologically active substances;

(1983) B McClintock - for her discovery of mobile genetic elements;

(1984) N K Jerne, G J F Köhler and C Milstein - for theories concerning the specificity in development and control of the immune system and the discovery of the principle for production of monoclonal antibodies;

(1985) M S Brown and J L Goldstein - for their discoveries concerning the regulation of cholesterol metabolism;

(1986) S Cohen and R Levi-Montalcini - for their discoveries of growth factors;

(1987) S Tonegawa - for his discovery of the genetic principle for generation of antibody diversity;

(1988) J W Black, G B Elion and G H Hitchings - for their discoveries of important principles for drug treatment;

(1989) J M Bishop and H E Varmus - for their discovery of the cellular origin of retroviral oncogenes;

(1990) J E Murray and E D Thomas - for their discoveries concerning organ and cell transplantation in the treatment of human disease.

Pub. date: May 1993
ISBN 981-02-0792-1 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-0793-X (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Physiology or Medicine 1981-1990". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 22 Sep 2017. <>