Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Lectures in Physiology or Medicine 1991-1995


Edited by Nils Ringertz (Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm)

Below is a list of the Nobel Laureates in in Physiology or Medicine for the period 1991-1995 with a description of the work awarded with the Nobel Prize:

(1991) E Neher and B Sakmann - for their discoveries concerning the function of single ion channels in cells;

(1992) E H Fischer and E G Krebs - for their discoveries concerning reversible protein phosphorylation as a biological regulatory mechanism;

(1993) R J Roberts and P A Sharp - for their discoveries of split genes;

(1994) A G Gilman and M Rodbell - for their discovery of G-proteins and the role of these proteins in signal transduction in cells;

(1995) E B Lewis, C Nüsslein-Volhard and E F Wieschaus - for their discoveries concerning the genetic control of early embryonic development.

Pub. date: July 1997
ISBN 981-02-3061-3 (hardcover)
ISBN 981-02-3062-1 (paperback)

World Scientific Publishing Company 


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Lectures in Physiology or Medicine 1991-1995". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 22 Sep 2017. <>