Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Particle Physics and the Universe

(1998, NS 109)
August 20-25, 1998
Haga Slott, Enköping, Sweden
Organizers: Professors Per Carlson, Royal Institute of Technology; and Lars Bergström and Claes Fransson, Stockholm University.

About 50 people participated in the symposium, including 36 invited lecturers from abroad. One major field at the symposium was neutrino physics. New experimental data indicate that the neutrino actually has a non-zero mass. This enables the various neutrinos (there are three different ones) to oscillate between each other by quantum-mechanical means. For example, the excessively low number of observed solar neutrinos can be explained by oscillations. Several contributions dealt with different aspects of neutrino research. Neutrinos with mass may also comprise part of the "dark matter" in the universe. Various methods for studying dark matter were thoroughly discussed. Very high-energy neutrinos can be used to study energy-rich processes at great distances from our own galaxy.

Another highly topical field is the various types of cosmic electromagnetic radiation, ranging from studies of continuous cosmic background radiation to the pulsing sources known as gamma ray bursts. The latter have recently been shown to come from sources outside our own galaxy and are very high-energy. Among the mechanisms suggested are collisions of neutron stars with black holes.

The question of whether the universe will expand eternally or whether its current expansion will be followed by contraction is a very central issue.

The symposium discussed new data from supernova explosions that took place very far away and thus early in the evolution of the universe. The symposium attracted publicity in the press and on radio. Its proceedings have been published in a separate volume of Physica Scripta.



Jenni Adams Uppsala University
Guido Altarelli CERN
John Bahcall IAS, Princeton
Neta Bahcall Princeton University
Lars Bergström Stockholm University
Claes-Ingvar Björnsson Stockholm University
Roger Blandford Caltech
Adam Burrows Arizona University
Per Carlson RIT, Stockholm
John Carlstrom University of Chicago
Jim Cronin University of Chicago
Ulf Danielsson Uppsala University
John Ellis CERN
Tom Francke RIT, Stockholm
Claes Fransson Stockholm University
Wendy Freedman Carnegie Observatory
Tom Gaisser Bartol Research Institute
Ariel Goobar Stockholm University
Bengt Gustafsson Uppsala University
Alan Guth MIT
Per Olof Hulth Stockholm University
Cecilia Jarlskog Lund Institute of Techn.
Till Kirsten MPI Heidelberg
Rocky Kolb Fermilab
Andrei Linde Stanford University
Eligio Lisi University of Bari
Piero Madau STScI
Jeremiah Ostriker Princeton University jpo@Princeton.EDU
Jim Peebles Princeton University pjep@pupgg.Princeton.EDU
Martin Rees University of Cambridge
Hector Rubinstein Uppsala University
Bernard Sadoulet UC Berkeley
Joe Silk UC Berkeley
Håkan Snellman RIT, Stockholm
David Spergel Princeton University dns@astro.Princeton.EDU
Michel Spiro Saclay Paul
Paul Steinhardt University of Pennsylvania
Roland Svensson Stockholm University
Max Tegmark IAS, Princeton
Yoji Totsuka University of Tokyo
Michael Turner University of Chicago
Tony Tyson Lucent Technologies
David Tytler UC San Diego
Gabriele Veneziano CERN
Alan Watson Leeds University
Eli Waxman Weizmann Institute
Trevor Weekes Whipple Observatory
David Wilkinson Princeton University dtw@pupgg.Princeton.EDU


Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Particle Physics and the Universe". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 24 Sep 2017. <>