Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1934
Harold C. Urey

Share this:

The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony 1934

A Summary

In 1934 four Americans and one Italian were each awarded a Nobel Prize at the Stockholm Concert Hall on 10 December. Also present was the Swedish Royal family: King Gustaf V, Prince Gustaf Adolf, Princess Sibylla, Princess Ingeborg, Prince Carl, Prince Eugen and Prince Wilhelm. The Nobel Prize for Chemistry was awarded to Harold Urey (accepted by Mr. Steinhardt, Minister of the United States, as the Nobel Laureate was absent); for Physiology or Medicine to George Minot, William Murphy and George Whipple; and for Literature to Luigi Pirandello. From SF Veckorevy 1934-12-10.

See a Video of the Award Ceremony
5 min.
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony 1934". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 23 Jun 2018. <>