Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2010
Richard F. Heck, Ei-ichi Negishi, Akira Suzuki

Share this:

Prize Announcement

Announcement of the 2010 Nobel Prize in Chemistry to Richard F. Heck, Ei-ichi Negishi and Akira Suzuki, presented by Professor Staffan Normark, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on 6 October 2010.

The Nobel Laureates' work was presented in more detail by Professors Lars Thelander and Jan-Erling Bäckvall.

See a Video of the Announcement
8 min.


Following the announcement Lars Thelander, Chairman of the Nobel Committee for Chemistry, told senior editor Simon Frantz how the reactions developed and refined by the three Nobel Laureates became an essential tool, which allowed chemists to construct complex organic molecules, such as drugs and agrochemicals, from scratch.

See a Video of the Interview
7 min.
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2010 - Prize Announcement". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 22 Oct 2017. <>