Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2013
Martin Karplus, Michael Levitt, Arieh Warshel

Share this:

Prize Announcement

Announcement of the 2013 Nobel Prize in Chemistry by Professor Staffan Normark, Permanent Secretary of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on 9 October 2013. By tradition, the announcement started in Swedish and included short summaries by Professor Gunnar Karlström and Professor Sven Lidin. Nobel Laureate Arieh Warshel joined the press conference via phone and answered media questions.

See a Video of the Announcement
20 min.


Following the announcement, Professor Sven Lidin, Chairman of the Nobel Committee for Chemistry, was interviewed by freelance journalist Joanna Rose about the 2013 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

See a Video of the Interview
8 min.


Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2013 - Prize Announcement". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 24 Jun 2018. <>