Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Show with photos

Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Show with photos

Collage: Friedrich August von Hayek, John F. Nash Jr., George J. Stigler, Elinor Ostrom and Milton Friedman

All Prizes in Economic Sciences

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel has been awarded 49 times to 79 Laureates between 1969 and 2017. Click on the links to get more information.

Alvin E. Roth thumb picture
Lloyd S. Shapley thumb picture
Alvin E. Roth and Lloyd S. Shapley

"for the theory of stable allocations and the practice of market design"

Thomas J. Sargent thumb picture
Christopher A. Sims thumb picture
Thomas J. Sargent and Christopher A. Sims

"for their empirical research on cause and effect in the macroeconomy"

Elinor Ostrom thumb picture
Elinor Ostrom

"for her analysis of economic governance, especially the commons"

Oliver E. Williamson thumb picture
Oliver E. Williamson

"for his analysis of economic governance, especially the boundaries of the firm"

Paul Krugman thumb picture
Paul Krugman

"for his analysis of trade patterns and location of economic activity"

Edmund S. Phelps thumb picture
Edmund S. Phelps

"for his analysis of intertemporal tradeoffs in macroeconomic policy"

Robert J. Aumann thumb picture
Thomas C. Schelling thumb picture
Robert J. Aumann and Thomas C. Schelling

"for having enhanced our understanding of conflict and cooperation through game-theory analysis"

Finn E. Kydland thumb picture
Edward C. Prescott thumb picture
Finn E. Kydland and Edward C. Prescott

"for their contributions to dynamic macroeconomics: the time consistency of economic policy and the driving forces behind business cycles"

Robert F. Engle III thumb picture
Robert F. Engle III

"for methods of analyzing economic time series with time-varying volatility (ARCH)"

Clive W.J. Granger thumb picture
Clive W.J. Granger

"for methods of analyzing economic time series with common trends (cointegration)"

Daniel Kahneman thumb picture
Daniel Kahneman

"for having integrated insights from psychological research into economic science, especially concerning human judgment and decision-making under uncertainty"

Vernon L. Smith thumb picture
Vernon L. Smith

"for having established laboratory experiments as a tool in empirical economic analysis, especially in the study of alternative market mechanisms"

James J. Heckman thumb picture
James J. Heckman

"for his development of theory and methods for analyzing selective samples"

Daniel L. McFadden thumb picture
Daniel L. McFadden

"for his development of theory and methods for analyzing discrete choice"

Robert A. Mundell thumb picture
Robert A. Mundell

"for his analysis of monetary and fiscal policy under different exchange rate regimes and his analysis of optimum currency areas"

James A. Mirrlees thumb picture
William Vickrey thumb picture
James A. Mirrlees and William Vickrey

"for their fundamental contributions to the economic theory of incentives under asymmetric information"

Robert E. Lucas Jr. thumb picture
Robert E. Lucas Jr.

"for having developed and applied the hypothesis of rational expectations, and thereby having transformed macroeconomic analysis and deepened our understanding of economic policy"

John C. Harsanyi thumb picture
John F. Nash Jr. thumb picture
Reinhard Selten thumb picture
John C. Harsanyi, John F. Nash Jr. and Reinhard Selten

"for their pioneering analysis of equilibria in the theory of non-cooperative games"

Robert W. Fogel thumb picture
Douglass C. North thumb picture
Robert W. Fogel and Douglass C. North

"for having renewed research in economic history by applying economic theory and quantitative methods in order to explain economic and institutional change"

Gary S. Becker thumb picture
Gary S. Becker

"for having extended the domain of microeconomic analysis to a wide range of human behaviour and interaction, including nonmarket behaviour"

Ronald H. Coase thumb picture
Ronald H. Coase

"for his discovery and clarification of the significance of transaction costs and property rights for the institutional structure and functioning of the economy"

Trygve Haavelmo thumb picture
Trygve Haavelmo

"for his clarification of the probability theory foundations of econometrics and his analyses of simultaneous economic structures"

Maurice Allais thumb picture
Maurice Allais

"for his pioneering contributions to the theory of markets and efficient utilization of resources"

James M. Buchanan Jr. thumb picture
James M. Buchanan Jr.

"for his development of the contractual and constitutional bases for the theory of economic and political decision-making"

Franco Modigliani thumb picture
Franco Modigliani

"for his pioneering analyses of saving and of financial markets"

Richard Stone thumb picture
Richard Stone

"for having made fundamental contributions to the development of systems of national accounts and hence greatly improved the basis for empirical economic analysis"

Gerard Debreu thumb picture
Gerard Debreu

"for having incorporated new analytical methods into economic theory and for his rigorous reformulation of the theory of general equilibrium"

George J. Stigler thumb picture
George J. Stigler

"for his seminal studies of industrial structures, functioning of markets and causes and effects of public regulation"

James Tobin thumb picture
James Tobin

"for his analysis of financial markets and their relations to expenditure decisions, employment, production and prices"

Lawrence R. Klein thumb picture
Lawrence R. Klein

"for the creation of econometric models and the application to the analysis of economic fluctuations and economic policies"

Theodore W. Schultz thumb picture
Sir Arthur Lewis thumb picture
Theodore W. Schultz and Sir Arthur Lewis

"for their pioneering research into economic development research with particular consideration of the problems of developing countries"

Herbert A. Simon thumb picture
Herbert A. Simon

"for his pioneering research into the decision-making process within economic organizations"

Bertil Ohlin thumb picture
James E. Meade thumb picture
Bertil Ohlin and James E. Meade

"for their pathbreaking contribution to the theory of international trade and international capital movements"

Milton Friedman thumb picture
Milton Friedman

"for his achievements in the fields of consumption analysis, monetary history and theory and for his demonstration of the complexity of stabilization policy"

Gunnar Myrdal thumb picture
Friedrich August von Hayek thumb picture
Gunnar Myrdal and Friedrich August von Hayek

"for their pioneering work in the theory of money and economic fluctuations and for their penetrating analysis of the interdependence of economic, social and institutional phenomena"

Wassily Leontief thumb picture
Wassily Leontief

"for the development of the input-output method and for its application to important economic problems"

John R. Hicks thumb picture
Kenneth J. Arrow thumb picture
John R. Hicks and Kenneth J. Arrow

"for their pioneering contributions to general economic equilibrium theory and welfare theory"

Simon Kuznets thumb picture
Simon Kuznets

"for his empirically founded interpretation of economic growth which has led to new and deepened insight into the economic and social structure and process of development"

Paul A. Samuelson thumb picture
Paul A. Samuelson

"for the scientific work through which he has developed static and dynamic economic theory and actively contributed to raising the level of analysis in economic science"

Ragnar Frisch thumb picture
Jan Tinbergen thumb picture
Ragnar Frisch and Jan Tinbergen

"for having developed and applied dynamic models for the analysis of economic processes"

Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "All Prizes in Economic Sciences". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 25 May 2018. <>