Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates
Lists of Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes 2008

Choose a year:  

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2008

Yoichiro Nambu

"for the discovery of the mechanism of spontaneous broken symmetry in subatomic physics"

Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Maskawa

"for the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature"

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2008

Osamu Shimomura, Martin Chalfie and Roger Y. Tsien

"for the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein, GFP"

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2008

Harald zur Hausen

"for his discovery of human papilloma viruses causing cervical cancer"

Françoise Barré-Sinoussi and Luc Montagnier

"for their discovery of human immunodeficiency virus"

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2008

Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio

"author of new departures, poetic adventure and sensual ecstasy, explorer of a humanity beyond and below the reigning civilization"

The Nobel Peace Prize 2008

Martti Ahtisaari

"for his important efforts, on several continents and over more than three decades, to resolve international conflicts"

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2008

Paul Krugman

"for his analysis of trade patterns and location of economic activity"

Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Nobel Prizes 2008". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 23 Mar 2018. <>