The Nobel Prize in Physics 1990

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded this year's Nobel Prize in Physics jointly to

Jerome I. Friedman and Henry W. Kendall
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, USA
Richard E. Taylor
Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC), CA, USA

for their pioneering investigations concerning deep inelastic scattering of electrons on protons and bound neutrons, which have been of essential importance for the development of the quark model
in particle physics


Copyright © Nobel Media AB 2017