The Nobel Prize in Physics 2002    The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2002 with one half jointly to Raymond Davis Jr and Masatoshi Koshiba "for pioneering contributions to astrophysics, in particular for the detection of cosmic neutrinos" and the other half to Riccardo Giacconi "for pioneering contributions to astrophysics, which have led to the discovery of cosmic X-ray sources".

Two New Windows on the Universe

The earth lies in the path of a continuous flux of cosmic radiation of different kinds. Some of this is very difficult to detect. This year's Nobel Laureates in Physics succeeded in doing this, thereby increasing our understanding of a number of heavenly bodies, from the sun and other stars to supernovae and galaxies. This new knowledge has changed our picture of the universe.

Raymond Davis Jr Masatoshi Koshiba Riccardo Giacconi

Copyright © Nobel Media AB 2018