The Nobel Prize in Physics 2003    The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2003 jointly to Alexei A. Abrikosov, Vitaly L. Ginzburg and Anthony J. Leggett for "pioneering contributions to the theory of superconductors and superfluids".


This year's Nobel Prize in Physics
rewards three scientists who have explained remarkable quantum-physical effects in matter close to absolute zero temperature. Here the phenomenon called superfluidity occurs, a kind of motion without resistance, both of the electrons in a superconductor and of the atoms in condensed helium gas.


Copyright © Nobel Media AB 2017