Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2008
Yoichiro Nambu, Makoto Kobayashi, Toshihide Maskawa

Share this:

Prize Announcement

Announcement of the 2008 Nobel Prize in Physics to Yoichiro Nambu, Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Maskawa, presented by Professor Gunnar Ă–quist, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on 7 October 2008. Professor Joseph Nordgren introduced, followed by a presentation on the prize-awarded work by Professor Lars Brink, and a telephone press conference with Nobel Laureate Makoto Kobayashi.

See a Video of the Announcement
22 min.


Following the announcement, Professor Per Carlson told senior editor Simon Frantz about the importance of broken symmetry in particle physics, and why broken symmetry helps us to understand how our Universe was created after the Big Bang.

See a Video of the Interview
13 min.
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "The Nobel Prize in Physics 2008- Prize Announcement". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 27 May 2018. <>