Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2010
Andre Geim, Konstantin Novoselov

Share this:

Prize Announcement

Announcement of the 2010 Nobel Prize in Physics to Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov, presented by Professor Staffan Normark, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on 5 October 2010. Detailed information about the Nobel Laureates' work was presented by Professor Ingemar Lundström and Professor Per Delsing.

See a Video of the Announcement
19 min.


Following the announcement, Professor Ingemar Lundström showed senior editor Simon Frantz how a pencil and chicken wire can demonstrate the extraordinary properties of graphene, and discussed its potential practical applications. He also discussed why the creation of the thinnest material known is the subject of the Nobel Prize only six years after its discovery.

See a Video of the Interview
10 min.
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "The Nobel Prize in Physics 2010 - Prize Announcement". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 18 Jul 2018. <>