Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2013
François Englert, Peter Higgs

Share this:

Prize Announcement

Announcement of the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physics by Professor Staffan Normark, Permanent Secretary of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on 8 October 2013. By tradition, the announcement started in Swedish and included short summaries by Professor Gunnar Ingelman and Professor Olga Botner. Nobel Laureate Professor Fran├žois Englert joined the press conference via phone and answered media questions.

See a Video of the Announcement
26 min.


Immediately following the announcement, Professor Olga Botner, Member of the Nobel Committee for Physics, was interviewed by freelance journalist Joanna Rose regarding the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physics.

See a Video of the Interview
10 min.


Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "The Nobel Prize in Physics 2013 - Prize Announcement". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 17 Jun 2018. <>