The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1997

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the 1997 Nobel Prize in Chemistry with one half to Paul D. Boyer and John E. Walker for their elucidation of the enzymatic mechanism underlying the synthesis of adenosine triphosphate (ATP); and with one half to Jens C. Skou, for the first discovery of an ion-transporting enzyme, Na+, K+-ATPase.


  Paul D. Boyer
University of California
Los Angeles, U S A
John E. Walker
Medical Research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Jens C. Skou
Aarhus University

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1997. Nobel Media AB 2020. Sun. 29 Mar 2020. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.